Rekonq 1.0 features: error page

I’ll have so much things to blog about and so little time to do it. But my sticky note with all the things I’d like to blog is now full and I have absolutely to start again doing it.😉
So, here I am. First argument I decided to blog about is quite easy: the error page.

Ehi, what is the error page?

I call an error page the one browsers usually show you when they cannot find and/or load the page related to the URL you requested/digited. According to a feature request done by a certain “Filippo” in bugzilla, improving our error page has been one of the target for next rekonq stable release.

Well… why should I list the features when I can just list some screenshot?

These are the pages shown in the most common browsers when loading the unextant URL “cinfullac.com” (sparse typing on my keyboard). Here you are:

Chrome

Firefox

Konqueror

Opera

Rekonq (UPDATED)

In case you missed it just seeing the page, the features are:

  • Suggestions on possibly error causes (similar to konq)
  • Ability to reload the page (quite everyone has it)
  • link shortcuts for the usual network/proxy/firewall KDE kcm settings
  • Search about the page with the default search engine
  • Load an old snapshot of the page via “Google” or “Wayback Machine” caches

So, given I’m not that web designer, I think we have a very nice and truly functional error page. Probably better than some other seen on the “big brothers”. What do you think?

36 responses to “Rekonq 1.0 features: error page

  1. I like it and I like the emoticons.
    i only change two things. The first would make the site more “horizontal” so that if the screen is wide enough sections would show the 3 next to each other.
    The second thing I would do is display the error “www.kde.org instead of ww.kde.org” only if it detects that the URL can have this error (this should not be difficult to do using javascript).

    P. S. Could you post the html somewhere to modify it with suggestions?

  2. (There was an an error when I tried to comment – so apologies if it’s a dupe)
    I think it’s the perfect blend of cheeky and useful. Great job!
    reKonq continues to get more and more useful as an everyday browser.

  3. rekonq is awesome and is long since my main daily driver. However, while new error message is great, I would rather see improvements in JS speed, stability, and support for netscape-compatible plugins (currently rekonq seem to work fine with non-free flash but fails to load anything with lightspark or gnash). Of course I might be barking up the wrong tree, but those are the main reasons I’m still keeping around a copy of Chromium.

  4. Sweet, I wish my browser had this😦

  5. Thanks, great and useful information

  6. Pingback: Rekonq 1.0 Beta | KDEFamily

  7. Pingback: Rekonq 1.0 | KDEFamily

  8. Thanks a lot for sharing this with all of us you really recognize what you’re speaking about! Bookmarked. Please also discuss with my web site =). We can have a link alternate contract between us

Leave a Reply

