rekonq 0.6 beta

Ok ok, I promised a 1.0 release for September, but I think this is really not the case. We had a lot of changes in the code, a lot of new “untested” features and some unsolved bugs yet. So, let’s go for another 0.x release! Today is starting the beta period for the 0.6 one and, as usual for the beta release, here is the list of the new features:

  • We are Qt 4.7.0 and KDE SC 4.5.0 based now. Yes, I know, Qt 4.7 has NOT been released yet, but we *want* people using rekonq with QtWebKit 2.0 and the fantastic improvements in its KDE integration available in KDE SC 4.5 series…
  • a lot of code cleanup and performance improvements in bookmarks, history, adblock, newtabpage management. Adblock, in particular has been incredibly boosted and History uses now half of the memory compared with the 0.5 release 🙂
  • back to XMLGUI: This basically means having configurable toolbars (as every KDE app).

    We moved away when we decided to remove menubar from the UI, because it lets possible removing ALL the toolbars, leaving rekonq unusable. We decided to fix this problem in this way 🙂

  • Improved keyboard navigation, having shortcuts for bookmarks(ALT + B by default) && rekonq tools (ALT + T) action menus
  • apturl handling: I don’t know exactly why, but we had problems with this. In rekonq 0.6 it will work well in every system apt based with apturl installed
  • The “so called Awesome UrlBar”: letting searches being editable and adding opensearch suggestions (just google’s for 0.6)
  • a new bookmarks icon on the urlbar (firefox & chrome like). But NOT on the left, as I previously blogged about. It seems the rekonquers prefer it on the right…
  • BK toolbar improvements: drag & drop, smooth navigation, easier management. Spend one minute playing with it and you’ll see..
  • Smooth scrolling, based on konqueror bits (thanks)
  • FindBar Improvements && ZoomBar added (dolphin-like)
  • better kget integration

Hope you’ll enjoy our work. 🙂

P.S.: we are (obviously) also working on this stupid favicons bug. Stay tuned!

35 responses to “rekonq 0.6 beta

  1. using qt4.7 along with kde 4.5 compiled with qt 4.6.3 was crashing rekonq… at gmail and bugs.kde.org…

    I’ve switched to rekonq now as my default browser! yay!

  2. I’m using Arch Linux and I installed qt-devel-beta2-4.7.0 package. I also have installed qt-4.6.3 intsalled on my system. So when I type “cmake .. ” it outputs an error about my version of Qt not being 4.7.0. How am I going to compile it against qt-devel-beta2-4.7.0?

    • just check your Qt version using
      $ qmake -v
      Let’s say it replies you are using qt-4.6.3 and you have qt-4.6.x installed in /usr/local/463, while qt4.7 is in /usr/local/47b.
      Change your PATH variables in this way:
      $ PATH=/usr/local/47b/bin:$PATH
      so that your 4.7 version comes “before” the other one. Then compiles it.

  3. Hello!
    Rekonq is wonderfull browser… but i have a question.
    Rekonq support NSPlugin like gecko-mediaplayer to play Apple trailers video? (Ex.: http://trailers.apple.com/trailers/wb/sherlockholmes/ )

    On same system installed gecko-mediaplayer i can play this video on Firefox but not on Rekonq. Same problem with KMPlayer on Konqueror and Rekonq.

    Tanx!

  4. It worked! Thanks! Can you explain to me please what the PATH command did exactly? (I’m learning)

    • the Qt version that is being used when compiling your code depends on the qmake. Qmake is the ‘meta-build’ tool that comes with Qt. It generates an ordinary makefile for you. By putting the Qt 4.7 at the start of your $PATH, it forces you that when you run ‘qmake’ it actually uses the qmake from 4.7.

      You’ve could got the same result by running ‘qmake’ with the complete path to it: “/mydirtoqt47/bin/qmake”.

  5. I also did not figure out how the bookmarks work in 0.5.80. FInally, the Yahoo page won’t load at all in 0.5.80.Great job though! I’m sure it is going to be a default browser for KDE in time…Konqueror is too laggy and buggy…

  6. Hi Adjam,

    I’m from Brazil and I would like to say you that Reqonk is an amasing browser. A great job! I’m using Reqonk 0.5.84 and I’m waiting for extensions support like Firefox and Chrome. Are you planning to introduce extensions support in Reqonk? It will be fine!

  7. Ok Adjam! I will wait until Rekonq is ready to support extensions. Keep working!!! Congratulations!

  8. a nice konqueror feature: please add “Clear text” in address bar button like in konqueror, it’s really coming in the way of ‘mouse selection clipboard’

    I possible please add ‘clear text’ <x button for address bar, and if really possible, clear text for 'forms' inside web pages. thanks.

  9. Could you please add the missing Search Engines icons? (e.g. when I press reight click -> search with)

  10. The most important suggestion I can make is, make things OPTIONAL whenever possible.

    For example, I noticed the ‘awesome bar’s search result have thumbnails behind the favicons—for some people, thumbnails in that area will be distracting.

    Smooth scrolling is a another area, that some people might want to be able to turn off. (It’s the one area of Konqueror that always bothers me)

    So again—if possible—please allow features in Rekonq to have an “on and off switch,” so that users have the option of turning off features that distract them from browsing.

    • Smooth Scrolling IS optional. And it is so in Konqueror, too. Urlbar suggestions aren’t and will not be. I never see a browser letting people configure the way it suggest urls. And we just do a lot in this area, letting people choose optional engines and removing the search item by disabling the default search engine.

      • I’m glad to hear that smooth-scrolling is optional.

        But I wasn’t talking about URL-bar suggestions, I was talking about URL-bar thumbnails.

        Since thumbnails in the url-bar suggestions is an uncommon feature, I was guessing that you added the feature—and if you did add that feature, I was requesting that it be optional.

        But, even if we disagree about thumbnail URLs, I appreciate your response and admirable work on a KDE-focused webkit browser.

Leave a comment