rekonq 1.0 Tech Preview

yes, it’s that time again… while some of us are working hard to renew our website, actually in maintenaince mode, my attention is completely devoted to our new piece of code: the upcoming 1.0 release! I was a bit reluctant, at the beginning, to move to the fatidical 1.0 release (in my original plans, that was for when rekonq will become an official slackware package…). But if I consider what we did since that day in December, 2008… well… we probably are ready for another step. Moreover the summer plans are for a complete code “review” that will drastically change what we have now and will prepare to the future fights… so, yes! Next will really 1.0! It’s just a number, after all. 😉

New features

So, what did we cook for such an important release? Here you are the new features list:

sync: while rekonq can just sync bookmarks, passwords and history with an ftp site, sync bookmarks (just them for now) with google and opera services has been added. Work on this area is just planned and will see news on every release. News and code in this area are from Siteshwar Vashisht. So, Kudos to him!
Fancy bookmarking: rekonq can now store (and share) infos about bookmarks via nepomuk. This is 2011 gsoc by Phaneendra Hegde (link). To say the truth, I changed a bit its code to let this become our first optional feature, that is enabled just if you compile rekonq with the nepomuk libraries installed. Moreover, if you do it but you don’t use nepomuk at all, rekonq just detect it on runtime (via dbus) and falls back to the usual structure.
rekonq pages visual improvements: Favorites page (drag & drop added, ability to reload preview), Bookmarks page (rewamped), History page (faster load showing just 2 days as default, search feature), Downloads page (initial notifications on what is happening to the downloaded file, search feature).
– More options for “privacy” and some “advanced” settings.
Default search engine check. If user has not a default search engine set, rekonq inform him.
– Included tab history when cloning a tab via the “clone tab” action
adblock: better widget, letting users decide with 1 click what adblock subscriptions use (similar to konq)
– adblock icon in the urlbar triggering a new dialog letting users to unblock/show blocked/hided elements
– new action to block (and hide) images.

That’s it! Just let us fix and clean up our code and hopefully next month you’ll have a shining new rekonq version in your desktop!

Cannot wait for? Download it, compile it, run it, test it…

30 responses to “rekonq 1.0 Tech Preview

  1. Is there anything known yet about support for the google talk plugin? I have it installed but can’t start a hangout. The plugin always crashes but works fine within firefox and such. I’d love to completely switch to rekonq since I have a pure KDE system (Chakra Linux) but this prevents me from getting rid of firefox…. well this and the lack of plugins… but since the adblock filter will soon be enhanced I could live with the missing plugins…. but not with a non-working google plugin since I do a lot of meetings with the hangout feature…. 😉

  2. Pingback: Rekonq 1.0 Beta | KDEFamily

  3. I find several places around the net that say you can sync Rekonq bookmarks with Google but none of them actually say how to do it. I have searched the local help files, the wiki, looked through every menu item ten times and cannot find any way to tell Rekonq to sync bookmarks. Using ver 1.1 so if this was a new feature in 1.0 then I should be able to find it.

    Any help would be appreciated.

  4. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after checking through some of the post I
    realized it’s new to me. Anyhow, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be
    bookmarking and checking back frequently!

  5. This piece of writing will help the internet users for creating new webpage or even a blog from start to end.

  6. Good respoknd in retuen of this query with real arguments annd describing the whole
    thing on tthe topic of that.

Leave a comment